World Cup 2014 in Brazil

-2326 days
to the World Cup 2014

«Host Cities
   »Rio de Janeiro
   »Sao Paulo
   »Belo Horizonte
   »Porto Alegre

Tahiti Team in the FIFA World Cup 2014

«World Cup in Brazil.
«Teams of the World Cup 2014.

»Official information: Tahitian Federation of Football (Fédération Tahitienne de Football).

Tahiti is a small island in the Pacific Ocean, with a population of about 200,000 people (Tahitians speak Tahitian and French and have French citizenship).

Tahiti in the World Cup 2014

Matches of the Oceania Nations Cup 2012 functioned as matches of the second round of Qualifying to the finals of the World Cup Brazil.

By winning the Nations Cup, Tahiti and other three nations advanced to the next round.
At this round, Tahiti lost four of the first six matches, and is already eliminated from the World Cup 2014 finals.

»Samoa 1 x 10 Tahiti
»Tahiti 4 x 3 New Caledonia
»Tahiti 3 x 1 Vanuatu
»Tahiti 1 x 0 Solomon Islands
»Tahiti 1 x 0 New Caledonia
»Tahiti 0 x 2 Solomon Islands
»New Zealand 3 x 0 Tahiti
»Tahiti 0 x 4 New Caledonia
»Solomon Islands 2 x 0 Tahiti
»Tahiti x New Zealand
»New Caledonia x Tahiti

Tahiti in the Confederations Cup 2013

For being the winner of the Asia Cup 2012 (see further below), Tahiti was entitlet to play the Confederations Cup 2013 in Brazil.

In the groups stage, Tahiti will play against Spain, Uruguay and the African champion; in the unlikely event that the team finishes in first or second of the group, it will pass to the second stage.

Schedule of matches:
»June 17th 2013, in Belo Horizonte: Tahiti x African
»June 20, in Rio de Janeiro: Tahiti x Spain
»June 23rd, in Recife: Tahiti x Uruguay

December 2012: the Tahitian coach, Eddy Etaeta, came to Brazil to attend the final draw of Confederations Cup; in an interview (he was the only coach to talk to press), he declared that, if Tahiti scores at least one goal, they will be happy.

See complete schedule of matches of the Confederations Cup 2013.

Tahiti in the Oceanian Cup 2012

In June 2012, Tahiti beat New Caledonia by 1 x 0 to win the ninth edition of the Oceania Nations Cup.

This Cup is played by the following member countries: New Zealand, Solomon Islands, New Caledonia, Fiji, Vanuatu, Tahiti, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, American Samoa, Cook Islands and Tonga.
Australia used to play the Oceania Cup (and win most titles), but since 2005 the Aussies have chosen to play in the Asian Confederation Cup.

»Samoa 1 x 10 Tahiti
»Tahiti 4 x 3 New Caledonia
»Tahiti 3 x 1 Vanuatu
»Tahiti 1 x 0 Solomon Islands
»Tahiti 1 x 0 New Caledonia

Mikael Roche (GK); Tamatoa Wagemann, Teheivarii Ludivion, Angelo Tchen, Nicolas Vallar; Lorenzo Tehau (read about Tehau brothers), Henri Caroine, Teaounui Tehau; Alvin Tehau, Maranaii Porlier, Roihau Degage, Steevy Chong Hue (scored the winning goal in the final match), Marama Vahirua (the only professional player of the team).
Coach: Eddy Etaeta.