World Cup 2014 in Brazil

-2364 days
to the World Cup 2014

«Host Cities
   »Rio de Janeiro
   »Sao Paulo
   »Belo Horizonte
   »Porto Alegre

Spain in the FIFA World Cup 2014

«World Cup in Brazil.
«Teams of the World Cup 2014.

Football Federation Spain

»Official Information: Royal Spain Football Federation, Real Federacion Espanola de Futbol, founded 1909.

Preparation for the World Cup 2014

As Title Holders of the World Cup 2010, Spain secured participation in the Confederations Cup in Brazil in 2013; Spain, however, will still have to play Qualifyings and fight for a slot in the World Cup 2014.

Spain in the Euro Cup 2012

In July 2012, Spain was the champion of the Euro Cup 2012; Italy was second, followed by Germany and Portugal.
Spain had already won the Euro 2008, and now is the first team two win two consecutive Euro Cups (Spain was also champion in 1964, when they hosted the event).
After this winning streak of two Euro Cups and one FIFA World Cup, Spain is the undisputed leader in the football rankings.

»Spain 1 x 1 Italy
»Spain 4 x 0 Republic of Ireland
»Croatia 0 x 1 Spain
»Spain 2 x 0 France
»Portugal 0 x 0 Spain (shoot outs 4 x 2)
»Spain 4 x 0 Italy (final match)

This was the lineup of Spain in the final match against Italy (see full squad list): Iker Casillas (GK)(C); Álvaro Arbeloa, Gerard Piqué, Jordi Alba, Sergio Ramos; Andrés Iniesta (Juan Mata), Xavi Hernández, Cesc Fàbregas (Fernando Torres), Xabi Alonso; Sergio Busquets, David Silva (Pedro Rodríguez).
Coach: Vicente del Bosque (since July 2008).

Spain in the FIFA World Cup 2010

In July 2010, Spain beat Holland to become champions the World Cup 2010.

Spain started the Cup in Group H, along with Switzerland, Chile and Honduras.
From the start, the Spaniards were the major favourites to win the Cup; the Spanish team had won the Eurocup 2008, and had won all 10 matches of their group in the Qualifying for 2014.
Spain started with a surprising defeat to Switzerland, followed by two winnings; the team finished first of the group (had they finished second, the Spaniards would have to face Brazil in the following round).
In the following round, Spain beat Portugal by 1 x 0.
In the quarter final, Spain beat Paraguay by 1 x 0.
In the semi-final, Spain beat Germany by 1 x 0.
And in the final match, Spain beat The Netherlands by 1 x 0, with a goal five minutes before the end of the extension time.

Spain won the World Cup scoring only 7 goals (the lowest number ever for a World Cup champion).
Five goals were scored by David Villa; Andres Iniesta scored the last goal, against Holland.

»Spanish Players in the World Cup 2010:
Main Players: Iker Casillas; Raul Albiol; Gerard Pique; Carlos Marchena; Carles Puyol; Andres Iniesta; David Villa; Xavi Hernandez; Fernando Torres; Cesc Fabregas; Joan Capdevilla.
Substitutes: Victor Valdes; Juan Manuel Mata; Xabi Alonso; Sergio Ramos; Sergio Busquets; Alvaro Arbeloa; Pedro Rodriguez; Fernando Llorente; Javier Martinez; David Silva; Jesus Navas; Pepe Reina.
Coach: Vicente Del Bosque (since July 2008).