Below, advertising


Brazil - Legislative Branch

Federal Legislative Power

The Federal Legislative Power structure is defined by articles 44 - 75 of Federal Constitution.
The Federal Legislative branch is composed by two Houses: the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies. When referred to as a single entity, Senate and Chamber are called the National Congress.

The National Congress
The National Congress occupies one of the most famous buildings of Brasilia. The half-esphere looking down is the plenarium of Senate, and the half looking up is the Chamber; the two buildings in the middle are where the offices are located.
The competences of the National Congress are established on articles 48, 49 and 50 of Constitution.

The Senate
The Senators represent each of the Brazilian States. Regardless of population, area, wealthness or any other factor, each State elects three Senators. Senators are ellected for a eight year term; every four years, either 2/3 or 1/3 of Senate is renovated; in 2002, 1/3 of Senate was renovated.
Senators are elected by majoritarian votation: the candidate with most votes is the winner.

The Chamber of Deputies
Federal Deputies represent the people. The number of Deputies is proportional to the population of each state, with minimum and maximum limits determined by a law. Deputies are ellected for four year terms, with elections held every four years.
Deputies are elected by the proportional votation of each Party; if a Party has 20% percent of the votes in a State, then this Party will ellect 20% of the Deputies of the State; so, a Deputy can be elected even if there are other candidates with more votes.
Deputies are not prohibited from changing Parties after being elected. Read more

Back to Top