Below, advertising


Libertadores 2004

Information about football in Brazil and the Brazilian football team.

History of Brazil in the World Cups

Brazil in the Germany World Cup 2006

All major Brazilian teams have been attaching more and more importance to the Libertadores de America; the winner of Libertadores goes to Japan to play against the European champion, and the exposition is very helpful to add value to Brazilian teams and Brazilian players.
Despite all efforts, Brazilian teams have not been very successful. In 2004, Santos reached the quarter-finals, and Sao Paulo reached the semi-finals. Both Santos and Sao Paulo were eliminated by a little know Colombian team called Once Caldas, which eventually became the champion.
Despite being a surprising champion, the Colombians had well deserved victories against the Brazilian teams (there were no serious complaints agains referees or misbehaving fans); both against Santos and Sao Paulo, Once Caldas managed to get a tied match when playing in Brazil, and won the match in Colombia.

Update: in 2005, São Paulo won the Libertadores and, by winning Milan by 1 x 0, became also the world champion team.

Back to Top